As most would be aware, the Senate inquiry into No Jab No Pay received in excess of 2,500 submissions, most of which opposed the bill.  Of these, only 550 were published on the parliament website. One of the unpublished submissions was made by an elderly World War II veteran who has requested that his submission be published here to commemorate Anzac Day 2016, lest we forget.

14 October 2015

Submission to Senate Standing Committee on Community Affairs
Regarding: Social Services Legislation Amendment (No Jab, No Pay) Bill 2015

Dear Senators,

I write to advise of my fierce opposition to the aforementioned Bill.   It is repugnant to me that the government intends to enact a law to coerce ordinary, hardworking Australians into vaccinating their children using financial penalties.  Surely decisions about vaccination are a matter between parents and their children’s physician, not government.

As a World War II veteran of advanced age, I consider it highly offensive that the freedoms for which I risked my life are going to be taken away at the whim of some politicians who see this as an opportunity to make some easy budget savings at the expense of the minority of the population which chooses to not vaccinate or partially vaccinate their children.  Why exactly should people pay their taxes if the government is going to deny them services funded by these taxes?  This is exactly what this Bill seeks to do, deny subsidisation of a taxpayer-funded service.

Having received and become gravely ill from the experimental vaccines and antibiotics I received during my military service, I have a healthy scepticism about all medical concoctions.  I haven’t used vaccines since that time and don’t ever intend to again, so I would be greatly concerned if the government was suddenly going to introduce a vaccination requirement for my service pension in the same way it intends to regarding child and family benefits.

The government should find fairer ways to reduce spending rather than targeting the small percentage of people who oppose vaccination. I do not wish my descendents to live under medical tyranny.

yours faithfully,

Alan

Couldn’t have said it better myself.

